CHHE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CHHE Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown

TL;DR
  • The current official CHHE application, online study guide and exam bundle is priced at USD $530.50.
  • The Certified Hospitality Housekeeping Executive credential renews every five years at a current official fee of USD $204.
  • The bundle allows two retake purchases within one year of application approval, but the retake fee is not verified.
  • Renewal requires 50 recertification points within five years; points are not automatically equal to CEU hours.

The CHHE Cost at a Glance

The Certified Hospitality Housekeeping Executive (CHHE) credential is administered by AHLEI (the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute) and endorsed by AHLA. It is built for senior housekeeping leaders, so its pricing structure looks different from the entry-level hospitality certificates many people compare it to. Instead of selling an exam seat alone, AHLEI sells a bundle that combines the application, the online study guide and the exam delivered through ExamFlex.

That bundle is the headline number you need: USD $530.50. It is the current official price listed for the CHHE application, online study guide and exam package. Everything else in this article builds on that figure, and it is worth being precise about what is and is not known, because several cost details that candidates commonly ask about are simply not published.

Cost ItemCurrent Verified FigureNotes
Application + online study guide + exam bundleUSD $530.50Current official price from the AHLEI product listing
Member vs. non-member pricingNot disclosedNo split is published for this product
Exam-only priceNot disclosedThe listing is a bundle
Retake purchaseFee unverifiedTwo retake purchases allowed within one year of application approval
Renewal (every five years)USD $204Requires 50 recertification points

If you are still deciding whether the credential fits your career path, start with What Is CHHE Certification? and then return here to price it out.

What the $530.50 Bundle Actually Covers

The bundle name tells you what you are buying: an application, an online study guide and an exam, all delivered through the ExamFlex platform. That packaging matters for budgeting because it means your core preparation material and your exam attempt are covered by a single purchase rather than being separate line items you assemble yourself.

The application component

Your purchase includes the application, but approval is not automatic. AHLEI reviews applications against its eligibility rules, and approval remains required before you can sit the exam. The application is also the clock-starter for your retake window: the issuer allows two retake purchases within one year from application approval, not from the date you first sit the exam. Read the section on retakes below before you buy.

The online study guide

The included study guide represents approximately 40 hours of self-paced review material. That figure describes how long the review content takes to work through. It is not the exam length and it is not a mandatory training minimum you must log to qualify. For a working housekeeping executive, those 40 hours are the baseline cost in time, and it is the only prep resource included in the price.

The exam itself

The current global product specifies 150 questions over three hours, with a 70% passing score and a required proctor. The proctor requirement is the part that can create indirect costs, which we cover next. If you want to understand how a 70% threshold translates into a target, see CHHE Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Read the product page before you pay: The $530.50 figure is the current official price from the issuer's listing, but AHLEI controls it and can change it. Confirm the live price and the exact bundle contents on the AHLEI shop at the moment you purchase, and screenshot the order confirmation for your expense report.

What AHLEI Does Not Publish

A responsible pricing breakdown has to separate what is verified from what candidates assume. For the Certified Hospitality Housekeeping Executive credential, a surprising number of cost-relevant details are not in the public product listing:

  • Member versus non-member pricing. The $530.50 bundle price is the figure published; no discount tier or membership split is disclosed for this product.
  • An exam-only price. If you hoped to skip the study guide and pay only for the exam, no such option is documented.
  • The retake fee. The product allows two retake purchases, but what each one costs is unverified.
  • Remote proctoring rules and any proctor fee. The exam requires a proctor, but detailed remote-proctor requirements are unverified, and no proctor charge is documented.
  • Calculator and open-book rules. These are also unverified, which affects what you may need to bring or purchase.

When a fee is unpublished, the honest approach is to ask AHLEI directly before you commit, rather than relying on forum posts or assumptions carried over from other certifications. Several unrelated credentials use similar acronyms, and their fee schedules do not apply here. Only AHLEI's own listing governs the Certified Hospitality Housekeeping Executive credential.

Eligibility Gates That Affect Your Real Spend

Cost is not just the price tag. If you pay for the bundle and your application is not approved, you have a problem. The CHHE is an executive-level credential, and eligibility reflects that.

What the current global issuer eligibility requires

Candidates need a qualifying executive or management-level housekeeping role and one year as a department head. Application approval by AHLEI is still required.

  • An Executive Certification or an accredited academic degree eliminates six months of the time requirement.
  • Whether those two reductions can be stacked is not established, so do not assume you can combine them.
  • No fixed experience-hour rule, universal mandatory training-hour rule or reference-count rule is verified.

The practical advice: confirm that your title and tenure fit before purchasing. If you are close but not quite there, the six-month reduction from an Executive Certification or an accredited degree could change your timeline, and therefore when it makes sense to buy. Our full walkthrough is in CHHE Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

Buying early is a quiet way to lose money, because the retake window runs from application approval. If you are approved long before you are ready, you burn through your one-year window while still studying.

Retakes: Two Purchases, One Year

The current global issuer product permits two retake purchases within one year from application approval. That is a meaningful safety net, but it comes with two caveats for budgeting.

  1. The retake price is unverified. Do not budget a specific number for a retake. Contact AHLEI and ask before you need it.
  2. The window is a hard one-year clock. It begins when your application is approved. If your first attempt slips late in the year, you may not have time to use both retakes.

The right way to think about retakes in a cost model is as a contingency line, not a plan. Candidates who prepare against the four exam domains in a deliberate order rarely need to treat retakes as expected spend. For context on how demanding the test is, see How Hard Is the CHHE Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026. Note that a published pass rate is not available for this product, so we do not quote one; the article CHHE Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows explains what is and is not known.

Scheduling beats retaking: Because the retake window is tied to application approval, the cheapest retake is the one you never buy. Treat your approval date as the start of a one-year project plan, and set your exam date so that a failed first attempt still leaves room for a retake. Check CHHE Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling for how to approach timing.

The Five-Year Renewal Bill

Certification cost does not end when you pass. The CHHE runs on a five-year renewal cycle with a current official fee of USD $204. Renewal is also not just a payment. Current issuer guidance requires 50 recertification points within five years, and every five years thereafter.

Points are not the same as CEU hours

This is the most commonly misunderstood part of the renewal. The 50 recertification points are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours. Do not assume a seminar you attended for continuing-education credit converts one-to-one into recertification points. Detailed evidence rules follow the current issuer program, so check what documentation AHLEI requires before you spend money on a course specifically to earn points.

Renewal ElementWhat Is Verified
Cycle lengthFive years
Current official feeUSD $204
Points required50 recertification points within five years, repeating every five years
Points vs. CEU hoursNot automatically equivalent
Evidence rulesFollow the current issuer program

Spread across five years, the renewal fee is a small recurring cost compared with the initial bundle. The larger hidden cost is the time and any course fees involved in accumulating 50 points, which you can plan for by logging qualifying activity from the day you pass rather than scrambling in year five.

Building Your Own Total-Cost Model

Because several fees are unpublished, the most useful thing you can do is build a model with confirmed numbers, clearly labeled unknowns and a contingency note. Here is a structure you can copy into a spreadsheet.

LineAmountStatus
Application, online study guide and exam bundleUSD $530.50Verified
Proctor arrangementsUnknownAsk AHLEI; proctor is required
Retake purchase (if needed, up to two)UnknownFee unverified
Supplemental practice questionsYour choiceOptional
Five-year renewalUSD $204Verified; due at the end of the cycle
Activities to earn 50 recertification pointsVariesEvidence rules follow the issuer

Over a full five-year cycle, the two verified fees together come to USD $734.50 (the bundle plus one renewal). Treat that as a floor, not a ceiling, since the unverified items above can only add to it. If you want to see how that outlay compares with the earning side, read CHHE Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis.

Where to Spend (and Not Spend) on Preparation

Since the bundle already includes about 40 hours of self-paced review material, the question is where an additional dollar actually helps. For a credential like the Certified Hospitality Housekeeping Executive, the exam reflects four competency areas: Housekeeping Operations, Financial Management, Leadership and Human Resources Management. Note that these four headings are issuer-published competencies, not an official weighted blueprint; percentages and scored-question allocations are unpublished. That shapes where your effort should go.

Domain 1: Housekeeping Operations

Most working housekeeping executives are strongest here, so budget the least extra preparation time.

  • Review the operational standards covered in the study guide against how your own property runs.

Domain 2: Financial Management

This is where department heads who came up through the floor often have the largest gaps.

  • Practice budgeting, cost control and operating-statement reasoning, the kind of work that rarely happens on the floor but dominates an executive's calendar.

Domain 3: Leadership

Expect scenario thinking about managing teams and departments rather than recalling procedures.

Domain 4: Human Resources Management

Cover the people-management side of running a department, from staffing to employee relations.

A simple way to turn that into a plan is to schedule Financial Management and Human Resources Management earliest, while your energy is highest, and use the final stretch for Housekeeping Operations as a confidence-building review of material you already live in. For the full breakdown of each area, see CHHE Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 4 Content Areas, and for a sequenced preparation plan, see CHHE Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.

Since the current item format is not specified by the issuer's product listing, avoid paying for prep material that promises to mirror a particular question style as though it were confirmed. Practice that builds understanding across all four domains is a safer buy. You can use the practice tests on the CHHE Exam Prep practice test site to check readiness against all four areas before you commit to your exam date.

Getting an Employer to Fund It

At roughly $530 for the bundle, this is a purchase many hotel companies will cover, particularly because the credential is aimed at people already holding department-head responsibility. When you ask, frame the request around the operation rather than yourself.

  • Name the verified cost. Quote the USD $530.50 bundle and the USD $204 renewal so your manager sees the full commitment, not just the first payment.
  • Offer a timeline. Explain that you will use roughly 40 hours of self-paced review and sit the exam within the one-year window after approval.
  • Tie it to the four domains. Show how Financial Management, Leadership and Human Resources Management knowledge applies to department budgeting, team performance and staffing at your property.
  • Ask about reimbursement timing. Some employers reimburse only after a pass, which affects whether you can afford to pay up front.

If you are weighing whether this is a credential employers actually look for, CHHE Jobs covers the kinds of roles and employers connected to it.

Weighing the Cost Against the Career Payoff

We do not quote salary uplift figures for the Certified Hospitality Housekeeping Executive credential because no verified number is available, and inventing one would mislead you. What can be said is qualitative: the credential signals executive-level housekeeping competence, and the cost is modest relative to a single month of executive-level compensation in most markets.

Key Takeaway

Judge the cost on the whole five-year cycle, not the first invoice. The verified outlay is USD $530.50 up front plus USD $204 at renewal, plus the time to earn 50 recertification points. Compare that to what the credential could unlock for your promotion or hiring prospects, and read Is the CHHE Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 for a fuller framework.

If you are earlier in your career and still gathering the required experience, you may get more value from reading CHHE Training and building toward eligibility first, then buying the bundle when your application is likely to be approved.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does the CHHE certification cost in 2026?

The current official application, online study guide and exam bundle is USD $530.50. Member versus non-member pricing and an exam-only price are not disclosed, so confirm the live price on the AHLEI shop at the time you buy.

What does the CHHE renewal cost?

The current official renewal fee is USD $204, due every five years. Renewal also requires 50 recertification points within the five-year period, and those points are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours.

Can I retake the CHHE exam if I fail?

Yes. The current global issuer product allows two retake purchases within one year from application approval. The retake fee is not verified, so ask AHLEI for the current price before you plan around it.

Does the CHHE exam require a proctor, and does that cost extra?

A proctor is required for the 150-question, three-hour exam delivered through ExamFlex. Detailed remote-proctor rules and any proctor-related fee are not verified, so confirm the arrangements with AHLEI before scheduling.

Is the study material included in the price?

Yes. The bundle includes the online study guide, which represents approximately 40 hours of self-paced review material. That is study time, not exam length and not a mandatory training minimum.

For a quick refresher on the facts you will want in your head on exam day, keep CHHE Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts handy, and use the practice test hub to test yourself across Housekeeping Operations, Financial Management, Leadership and Human Resources Management before you sit the real exam.

Ready to pass your CHHE exam?

Put this into practice with free CHHE questions across every exam domain.