- What the CHHE Requirements Actually Cover
- The Experience Requirement: Role Level and Department Head Time
- Credentials and Degrees That Shorten the Timeline
- Application Approval and the Bundle Purchase
- What Is Not Required: Myths About Hours and References
- Exam Format You Qualify For
- Readiness Check by Domain
- Sequencing Your Prep Around Your Qualification Date
- After Qualification: Retakes and Renewal
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CHHE eligibility requires a qualifying executive or management-level housekeeping role plus one year as a department head.
- An Executive Certification or accredited academic degree eliminates six months of the time requirement; stacking both is not established.
- AHLEI application approval is required, and the bundle includes application, online study guide and exam for USD $530.50.
- The exam is 150 questions in three hours with a 70% passing score and a required proctor.
What the CHHE Requirements Actually Cover
The Certified Hospitality Housekeeping Executive credential is an AHLA-endorsed certification administered by AHLEI. Unlike entry-level hospitality credentials, it is aimed at people who already run housekeeping at the department level or above. That shapes everything about how you qualify: the gatekeeping is about your job history, not about completing a fixed number of classroom hours or collecting a stack of reference letters.
In practice, "requirements" for this credential break into four buckets:
- Experience eligibility: holding a qualifying executive or management-level housekeeping role and having one year as a department head.
- Application approval: AHLEI must approve your application before you move forward.
- Exam completion: passing the proctored exam at the 70% threshold.
- Maintenance: renewing every five years with 50 recertification points.
If you are still deciding whether this credential fits your career stage, the overview in What Is CHHE Certification? gives useful context before you dive into eligibility details.
The Experience Requirement: Role Level and Department Head Time
The core eligibility rule is two-part, and candidates sometimes blur the parts together. The issuer requires both of the following:
- A qualifying executive or management-level housekeeping role, and
- One year as a department head.
The department-head year is the piece that most often decides whether someone is ready to apply. An assistant housekeeping manager who supervises a shift but does not own budgets, staffing plans or inspection standards for the whole department may be doing meaningful work without yet meeting the department-head standard. By contrast, an Executive Housekeeper, Director of Housekeeping or similar leader who owns the department's results typically maps cleanly onto the requirement.
What counts as evidence of department-head experience
The issuer does not publish a fixed experience-hour minimum or a required number of references, so avoid assuming either one. What you should prepare is a clear, honest description of your responsibilities that maps to the executive/management-level and department-head language. Useful details include:
- Properties and dates of employment in each role
- Who reported to you and how large the housekeeping team was
- Whether you owned labor scheduling, supply purchasing and departmental budgets
- Your role in hiring, training, performance management and quality inspection programs
Keep the exact submission requirements tied to the current AHLEI application, since detailed evidence rules must follow the current issuer program rather than any secondhand summary.
Credentials and Degrees That Shorten the Timeline
The issuer allows two kinds of credit that can reduce the department-head time requirement. Specifically, either of the following eliminates six months of the time requirement:
- An Executive Certification, or
- An accredited academic degree.
| Situation | Effect on Time Requirement | Confidence |
|---|---|---|
| No qualifying credential or degree | Full one year as a department head | Stated by issuer |
| Executive Certification held | Six months eliminated | Stated by issuer |
| Accredited academic degree held | Six months eliminated | Stated by issuer |
| Both Executive Certification and degree | Whether reductions stack is not established | Confirm with AHLEI before assuming |
The practical takeaway: a department head with about six months in the seat and a qualifying degree or Executive Certification may be closer to eligible than the headline "one year" suggests. The approval decision still rests with AHLEI, so treat your own math as a planning estimate, not a guarantee.
Application Approval and the Bundle Purchase
Eligibility is confirmed through the AHLEI application, and approval is required. The current official product is a bundle that combines the application, the online study guide and the exam, delivered through ExamFlex with online or print delivery and an approved proctor. The listed price for that bundle is USD $530.50.
Several pricing details are worth being precise about:
- The member versus non-member price split is not disclosed in the reviewed materials.
- An exam-only price is not disclosed either.
- The current retake fee is unverified.
For a fuller view of how the bundle, retakes and renewal fit into your total spend, see CHHE Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Why the retake window starts at approval
The issuer's product allows two retake purchases within one year from application approval. That anchors your clock to the approval date, not the date you start studying or the date you first sit the exam. If you are the type to delay, remember that your retake runway starts running once AHLEI approves you. Plan your scheduling so that a first attempt, and if needed a second and third, fit inside that one-year window. For scheduling mechanics, see CHHE Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
What Is Not Required: Myths About Hours and References
A common mistake is importing rules from other credentials. For this one, several things are not part of the verified requirements:
- No fixed experience-hour rule. There is no verified minimum number of logged work hours; eligibility is framed around role level and department-head time.
- No universal mandatory training-hour rule. The roughly 40 hours associated with this program describes self-paced review material study time. It is not exam duration and not a mandatory minimum you must prove.
- No verified reference-count rule. Do not assume a set number of recommendation letters.
Key Takeaway
Treat the approximately 40 hours as the scope of the study material, not a prerequisite. You qualify through your leadership experience and AHLEI approval, then you work through the review content on your own schedule.
Exam Format You Qualify For
Once approved, here is what you are qualifying to take. The current global issuer product specifies:
| Feature | Detail |
|---|---|
| Number of questions | 150 |
| Time allowed | 3 hours |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Proctor | Required (approved proctor via ExamFlex) |
| Delivery | Online or print through ExamFlex |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not publicly disclosed |
| Observed pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Item format | Not specified by the current product |
Be careful with older descriptions you may find online that describe a multiple-choice format. Those are not treated as current verification, so do not build your prep strategy on a format the current product does not confirm. Calculator rules, open-book rules and detailed remote-proctor conditions are also unverified, so confirm them in your approval materials before test day.
For a closer look at the threshold itself, read CHHE Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass. Because the pass rate is not publicly disclosed, CHHE Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows is a good place to see how to interpret what is and is not known.
Readiness Check by Domain
Meeting the eligibility rule does not mean you are ready to pass. The four published competency headings are Housekeeping Operations, Financial Management, Leadership and Human Resources Management. These are issuer-published competencies, not an official weighted or exhaustive blueprint; percentages and scored-question allocations remain unpublished. Use them as a self-audit against your actual job.
Domain 1: Housekeeping Operations
Typically the comfort zone for a working Executive Housekeeper, but the exam rewards breadth beyond your own property's habits.
- Cleaning standards, inspection systems and room-status workflows
- Linen, laundry and inventory management
- Safety, chemical handling and public-area care
Domain 2: Financial Management
Often the gap for operations-first leaders who inherited budgets rather than building them.
- Departmental budgeting, forecasting and variance analysis
- Labor cost control and productivity measurement
- Purchasing, par levels and cost-per-occupied-room thinking
Domain 3: Leadership
Tests how you direct people and processes, not just whether you can name leadership theories.
- Communication, delegation and team development
- Change management and department-wide goal setting
- Working across front office, engineering and sales
Domain 4: Human Resources Management
Where department heads who relied on a corporate HR team may find unexpected holes.
- Recruiting, onboarding and retention in a high-turnover function
- Training programs, scheduling and performance management
- Policy, compliance and employee relations
For a deeper breakdown of each area, see CHHE Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 4 Content Areas. If you want to calibrate your honest expectations about difficulty before applying, How Hard Is the CHHE Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 covers it.
Sequencing Your Prep Around Your Qualification Date
Because the retake window runs one year from approval, the smart move is to front-load your weakest domain. Most experienced housekeeping leaders are strongest in operations and weakest in financial management or HR, so a sensible order is below.
Financial Management first
- Rebuild budget, labor-cost and purchasing fundamentals while energy is highest
- Work through numeric scenarios from your own department's reports
Human Resources Management
- Review hiring, training, scheduling and employee relations content
- Map your property's policies to the textbook approach
Leadership and Housekeeping Operations
- Use your day-to-day strengths to move faster here
- Close gaps on standards and systems you have not personally managed
Timed practice
- Simulate a 150-question, three-hour sitting at an average of roughly 72 seconds per question
- Review misses by domain, not just by score
For a complete preparation plan, see CHHE Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and if you want a compact refresher near exam week, CHHE Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts is built for that. When you are ready to test yourself under realistic conditions, the CHHE practice tests let you drill each domain and review explanations.
After Qualification: Retakes and Renewal
If you do not pass the first time
The product allows two retake purchases within one year from application approval. The retake fee is currently unverified, so check the current price in your AHLEI account before budgeting. Use any missed attempt diagnostically: identify which of the four domains pulled your score below 70% and rebuild from there.
Keeping the credential current
Certification is not permanent. The renewal cycle is five years, with a current official renewal fee of USD $204. Current issuer guidance requires 50 recertification points within five years, and again every five years thereafter. Those points are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours, so do not assume that a CEU transcript converts one-to-one. Detailed evidence rules follow the current issuer program, so track your activities as you go rather than reconstructing them in year five.
Wondering whether the investment pays off for your career stage? Weigh it with Is the CHHE Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and the earnings discussion in CHHE Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis. If you are mapping employer demand, CHHE Jobs covers where the credential tends to matter.
Frequently Asked Questions
You need a qualifying executive or management-level housekeeping role and one year as a department head. AHLEI application approval is also required before you can proceed to the exam.
Yes. An Executive Certification or an accredited academic degree eliminates six months of the time requirement. Whether you can stack both reductions is not established, so confirm with AHLEI before planning around it.
No fixed experience-hour rule or universal mandatory training-hour rule has been verified. The approximately 40 hours refers to self-paced review material study time, not exam length or a required minimum.
The current product lists 150 questions, a three-hour time limit, a 70% passing score and a required proctor, delivered through ExamFlex. Item format, scored/unscored split and pass rate are not specified.
The product allows two retake purchases within one year from application approval, with the retake fee unverified. The credential renews every five years for USD $204 and requires 50 recertification points.