- What the Letters Stand For
- Who Issues the Credential
- Reading Each Word of the Title
- The Four Competency Areas Behind the Title
- What the Exam Looks Like
- What Eligibility Says About Who Holds the Title
- Cost, Retakes and Renewal Mechanics
- Where the Title Carries Weight
- Matching Your Prep to the Meaning
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CHHE stands for Certified Hospitality Housekeeping Executive, an AHLA-endorsed credential administered by AHLEI.
- The exam is 150 questions in 3 hours with a 70% passing score and a required proctor.
- Eligibility requires an executive or management-level housekeeping role plus one year as a department head.
- The current application, online study guide and exam bundle costs USD $530.50.
What the Letters Stand For
CHHE stands for Certified Hospitality Housekeeping Executive. It is a professional certification for housekeeping leaders in the lodging industry, and it signals that the holder has been vetted at the executive level of the housekeeping function rather than at the supervisor or attendant level.
The acronym is short, and short acronyms get reused. If you search the letters on their own, you may run into other credentials or terms that happen to share them. This article is only about the hospitality housekeeping credential, and everything below describes that one. If you want a quick orientation from a different angle, our pages on what CHHE stands for and what CHHE certification is cover adjacent questions, and the CHHE certification overview ties the pieces together.
Who Issues the Credential
The certification is administered by AHLEI and is AHLA-endorsed. Candidates take the exam through an ExamFlex delivery, available in online or print form, and an approved proctor is required. No separate external testing vendor has been verified, so the issuer's own program is the authoritative source for how your attempt is administered.
That matters for your planning. Because the proctor requirement is part of the current global issuer product, you should expect to arrange for an approved proctor as part of your application, not treat the exam as an on-demand session you can launch from a laptop with no oversight. Detailed remote-proctor rules, such as what materials you may have at your desk, are not something we can state as settled, so confirm them with the issuer before you schedule. Our guide to CHHE exam dates, testing windows and scheduling goes deeper on the logistics side.
Reading Each Word of the Title
The title is worth parsing, because each word narrows who the credential is for.
| Word | What it signals |
|---|---|
| Certified | You applied, were approved by the issuer, and passed a proctored exam; it is not a course-completion certificate. |
| Hospitality | The setting is the lodging and hospitality industry, where housekeeping is a core revenue-supporting department. |
| Housekeeping | The functional specialty: guest room and public area cleanliness, inventory, laundry, and related operations. |
| Executive | The level: department-head and management responsibility, including budgets, people and strategy. |
The last word is the one people most often misread. "Executive" here is a level of responsibility within housekeeping, and the eligibility rules (covered below) reflect that by requiring an executive or management-level role and department-head experience. A new attendant or a first-month supervisor is not the intended audience. If you are weighing where you fit, the CHHE requirements guide walks through qualification in detail.
The Four Competency Areas Behind the Title
The meaning of the credential is easiest to see in what it tests. The issuer publishes four competency areas. These are issuer-published competencies, not an official weighted or exhaustive blueprint; percentages, scored-question allocations and a formal blueprint revision date have not been published, so treat the list as a map of topics and not as a scoring formula. For a deeper walk through each area, see the complete guide to the four CHHE content areas.
Domain 1: Housekeeping Operations
The technical core of the job: how a housekeeping department actually runs day to day.
- Guest room and public area cleaning standards and inspection
- Linen, laundry and supply management
- Staffing and scheduling to match occupancy and workload
- Safety, cleanliness and quality control practices
Domain 2: Financial Management
Executives own a budget, and this area covers the money side of housekeeping.
- Departmental budgeting and cost control
- Labor and supply expense management
- Inventory and purchasing decisions
- Interpreting performance against financial targets
Domain 3: Leadership
The people-direction side of the executive role.
- Setting direction and standards for a team
- Communication across departments, including front office and maintenance
- Motivating, coaching and developing supervisors
- Decision-making under operational pressure
Domain 4: Human Resources Management
The employment-side responsibilities that come with managing a large hourly workforce.
- Recruitment, hiring and onboarding
- Training and performance management
- Retention and workplace policy
- Compliance-minded handling of employee matters
What the Exam Looks Like
The current global issuer product specifies the following exam parameters:
| Feature | Current issuer specification |
|---|---|
| Number of questions | 150 |
| Time allowed | 3 hours |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Proctor | Required |
| Delivery | ExamFlex, online or print |
A few things are deliberately not stated, because the issuer product does not state them. The item format is not specified, so do not assume a particular question style from older descriptions. The split between scored and unscored questions has not been disclosed, and neither has an observed pass rate. If you are looking for a number to anchor your expectations, our CHHE pass rate analysis explains what can and cannot be said from public information, and the passing score guide covers the 70% threshold in more depth.
Roughly 40 hours is cited for the self-paced review material. That figure describes study time with the provided materials. It is not the length of the exam and it is not a mandatory minimum training requirement you must document.
What Eligibility Says About Who Holds the Title
Eligibility is one of the clearest windows into what CHHE means. The current global issuer requires a qualifying executive or management-level housekeeping role and one year as a department head. Application approval by AHLEI remains required before you sit the exam.
There is a time-reduction pathway. An Executive Certification or an accredited academic degree eliminates six months of the time requirement. Whether those two reductions can be stacked is not established, so do not plan on combining them without confirming with the issuer. No fixed experience-hour total, universal training-hour rule or reference-count rule has been verified, so you should not repeat figures you may have seen elsewhere.
Key Takeaway
The credential is a recognition of executive-level experience, not an entry ticket. If you have not yet held a department-head role, work on getting there first, then use the requirements guide to confirm that your title and duties would qualify.
Cost, Retakes and Renewal Mechanics
The current official application, online study guide and exam bundle is USD $530.50. A member versus non-member split and an exam-only price have not been disclosed, so the bundle figure is the one concrete number to plan around. For a wider look at what else might enter your budget, see the CHHE certification cost breakdown.
If your first attempt does not go the way you hoped, the current global issuer product allows two retake purchases within one year from application approval. The current retake fee has not been verified, so confirm it before you commit to a timeline.
Holding the title is not permanent without upkeep. The renewal cycle is five years, the current official renewal fee is USD $204, and current issuer renewal guidance requires 50 recertification points within five years, then again every five years thereafter. Those points are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours, so do not assume that a CEU you earned elsewhere counts one-for-one. Detailed evidence rules follow the current issuer program.
| Item | What is verified |
|---|---|
| Application, study guide and exam bundle | USD $530.50 |
| Retakes | Two retake purchases within one year of application approval; fee unverified |
| Renewal cycle | Every five years |
| Renewal fee | USD $204 |
| Recertification | 50 points within five years, then every five years |
Where the Title Carries Weight
The credential is built for housekeeping leaders in lodging. The people most likely to value it are hotel and resort operators who want a recognized benchmark for an executive housekeeper, as well as the housekeeping leaders themselves who want portable proof of competence across properties and brands. It also gives hiring managers a quick way to compare candidates who may have very different property backgrounds.
Think of the job titles where this credential tends to be relevant: executive housekeeper, director of housekeeping, and other department-head or senior management roles in the rooms division. We are deliberately not quoting earnings here, since no verified salary figures are available for this credential. If compensation is your main question, the CHHE salary guide and the CHHE jobs page discuss the market qualitatively, and the ROI analysis helps you frame whether the investment makes sense for your situation.
Matching Your Prep to the Meaning
Once you understand that the four areas are the substance of the title, a sensible plan follows. Candidates who already run operations usually find Housekeeping Operations familiar and the other three areas less so, so it makes sense to put your early effort where your daily work gives you the least exposure. A rough sequence that respects the roughly 40 hours of review material might look like this:
Financial Management
- Start here if budgeting is not part of your daily routine
- Work through cost control, labor and inventory concepts
Human Resources Management
- Review hiring, training, performance and retention practices
- Pay attention to policy and compliance-minded decisions
Leadership
- Study communication, coaching and cross-department coordination
- Practice thinking through scenarios as a department head
Housekeeping Operations and Full Review
- Refresh operational standards you already know well
- Take timed practice at the 150-question, 3-hour scale
Because the item format is not specified in the current product, build flexibility into your practice and do not rehearse for one narrow question style. For a fuller plan, the CHHE study guide lays out a first-attempt approach, the cheat sheet gives you a compact review of key facts, and the difficulty guide helps you calibrate effort. You can also run timed drills on the CHHE practice test site to get used to pacing 150 questions inside three hours.
Key Takeaway
Spend your hours in proportion to your gaps, not your comfort zone. Finance and human resources are where many operations-focused leaders have the most to gain, and the practice questions are a quick way to find out which area needs more time.
Frequently Asked Questions
CHHE means Certified Hospitality Housekeeping Executive. It is an AHLA-endorsed certification administered by AHLEI for housekeeping leaders in the lodging industry. For more phrasing variations, see what does CHHE mean.
The current issuer product does not specify the item format, so we do not state one. It does specify 150 questions, a three-hour limit, a 70% passing score and a required proctor.
The current global issuer requires a qualifying executive or management-level housekeeping role and one year as a department head, plus AHLEI application approval. An Executive Certification or accredited academic degree eliminates six months of the time requirement, though stacking these reductions is not established.
The current official application, online study guide and exam bundle is USD $530.50. Two retake purchases are allowed within one year from application approval, but the retake fee has not been verified.
Renewal is on a five-year cycle with a current official fee of USD $204, and current issuer guidance requires 50 recertification points within five years and every five years thereafter. Those points are not automatically equivalent to CEU hours, so follow the issuer's evidence rules.